Research Topics

The ROBDEKON consortium is researching cross-sectional technologies for decontamination scenarios in five so-called core projects. New concepts and technologies for the implementation of advanced capabilities for robotic systems for decontamination are being developed in close cooperation with industry and users.

Core Project 1: Robot Platforms for Decontamination

Unstructured, hazardous environments place high demands on the robotic systems used. Both locomotion in rough terrain and complex manipulation tasks pose a great challenge. For the various decontamination tasks, mobile robots (wheeled or tracked vehicles as well as walking robots), single and double-armed manipulators (industrial robots, construction machines) as well as climbing robots based on vacuum suction technology will be employed.

Within the scope of this core project, novel robot platforms for decontamination will be designed and existing demonstrators will be extended by important capabilities. The focus will be on both robotic carrier platforms and special manipulators. The work includes the conception of the hardware as well as the development of low-level algorithms.

Core Project 2: Robot-based Decontamination Techniques

Decontamination work requires highly specific skills for the robotic systems used. Typical tasks are the disassembly of components during the dismantling of nuclear facilities, e.g. the cutting of pipes, as well as the milling of contaminated wall layers and the handling of radioactive substances and waste. In the field of contaminated site remediation, the removal of contaminated soil layers and the retrieval of hazardous substances are of particular interest.

In this core project, advanced technologies for robot-assisted decontamination are developed. The focus is on the actual decontamination operation and the required tools. In order to get people out of the danger zone, the robotic systems must be able to take over as many of the complex handling tasks normally performed by humans as possible. However, it is also important to take a holistic view of the deployment of robotic systems, since contamination can itself turn them into hazardous goods, which in turn must be decontaminated or disposed of properly. Therefore, this core project considers the entire life cycle of decontamination robots.

Core Project 3: Telepresence Technologies for Robotic Systems

Due to the variability of the environment, fully autonomous environmental exploration and decontamination is in many cases not feasible. However, to avoid that people have to put themselves in danger by entering the contaminated areas, tele-operated control of the robots is required.

In this core project, technologies for telepresence and virtual/augmented reality are being developed that offer the operator an immediate, immersive 3D impression of the robot's environment. Intuitive control options for the various robotic systems are also of great importance; here, in particular, the haptic feedback of occurring forces is considered, which can be realized e.g. via an exoskeleton, but the development of assistance functions for the semi-autonomous execution of decontamination work is also an important component.

Core Project 4: Multisensory Environmental Monitoring for Robotic Systems During Decontamination

As the degree of autonomy of robots increases, the detection of the environment becomes more and more important. The detection of unstructured environments poses great challenges for sensor technology and algorithms. In addition to the geometric perception of the environment, the robot-based detection of hazardous substances and radiation measurement also play a major role.

In this core project, targeted technologies for the detection of the robot's environment in decontamination scenarios are being developed. This includes the acquisition of information which the robot needs to perform its intended task as well as the detection and measurement of hazardous substances. The aim is to develop new technologies that go far beyond the current state of the art in order to meet the high demands on the precision of mapping and localisation as they are present in the decontamination context. The robotic systems will be enabled to generate a hazardous material map of an area or a radiation map of a building semi-autonomously.

Core Project 5: Planning Algorithms for Decontamination Tasks

In this core project, advanced technologies are developed for planning tasks in the context of decontamination work. This concerns logistics as well as the movement of robots in unstructured environments and when manipulating objects.

The aim is to develop a 3D planning tool for logistics, simulation, evaluation and documentation of the decontamination task. On the basis of the 3D environment model, sequence and deployment plans can be created and transport routes optimized. In addition, procedures and algorithms for motion planning for robots in unstructured environments will be developed. This includes robot-independent planning algorithms for automated area-wide radiation measurement and exploration as well as robot-specific path planning algorithms taking into account the vehicle kinematics for special robots such as construction machines or tasks such as the deployment of climbing robots. Furthermore, methods for grasping and manipulation planning for decontamination tasks are developed.

Forschungsthemen

Das ROBDEKON-Konsortium erforscht in fünf sogenannten Kernprojekten Querschnittstechnologien für Dekontaminationsszenarien. Hierbei werden partnerübergreifend in enger Abstimmung mit Industrie und Anwendern neue Konzepte und Technologien zur Umsetzung fortschrittlicher Fähigkeiten für Robotersysteme zur Dekontamination erarbeitet.

Kernprojekt 1: Roboterplattformen zur Dekontamination

Unstrukturierte, menschenfeindliche Umgebungen stellen hohe Anforderungen an die eingesetzten Robotersysteme. Sowohl die Fortbewegung in unwegsamem Gelände als auch komplexe Manipulationsaufgaben stellen eine große Herausforderung dar. Für die unterschiedlichen Dekontaminationsaufgaben sollen mobile Roboter (Rad- oder Kettenfahrzeugen sowie Laufroboter), ein- und zweiarmigen Manipulatoren (Industrieroboter, Baumaschinen) sowie Kletterroboter auf der Basis von Vakuumsaugtechnik eingesetzt werden.

Im Rahmen dieses Kernprojekts werden neuartige Roboterplattformen für die Dekontamination konzipiert sowie bestehende Demonstratoren um wichtige Fähigkeiten erweitert werden. Hierbei stehen sowohl robotische Trägerplattformen als auch spezielle Manipulatoren im Fokus. Die Arbeiten umfassen sowohl die Konzeption der Hardware als auch die Entwicklung hardwarenaher Algorithmen.

Kernprojekt 2: Roboterbasierte Dekontaminationstechniken

Dekontaminationsarbeiten erfordern hochspezifische Fähigkeiten für die eingesetzten Robotersysteme. Typische Arbeiten sind die Zerlegung von Bauteilen beim Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen, z. B. das Zerschneiden von Rohren, sowie das Abfräsen von kontaminierten Wandschichten und die Handhabung von radioaktiven Substanzen und Abfällen. Im Bereich der Altlastensanierung ist vor allem die Entfernung von kontaminierten Bodenschichten und die Rückholung von Gefahrstoffen von Interesse.

In diesem Kernprojekt werden fortschrittliche Technologien zur roboterassistierten Dekontamination erarbeitet. Hierbei liegt der Fokus auf der eigentlichen Dekontaminationshandlung und den benötigten Werkzeugen. Um den Menschen aus der Gefahrenzone zu bringen, müssen die Robotersysteme in der Lage sein, eine möglichst große Zahl der normalerweise vom Menschen durchgeführten komplexen Handhabungsaufgaben zu übernehmen. Wichtig ist jedoch auch die ganzheitliche Sicht auf den Einsatz von Robotersystemen, da diese durch Kontaminationen selbst zu Gefahrgut werden können, welches seinerseits wiederum dekontaminiert oder fachgerecht entsorgt werden muss. Daher wird in diesem Kernprojekt der gesamte Lebenszyklus von Dekontaminationsrobotern betrachtet.

Kernprojekt 3: Telepräsenztechnologien für Robotersysteme

Aufgrund der Variabilität der Umgebung ist eine vollautonome Umgebungsexploration und Dekontamination in vielen Fällen nicht realisierbar. Um dennoch zu vermeiden, dass sich Menschen durch das Betreten der kontaminierten Bereiche in Gefahr begeben müssen, wird eine teleoperierte Steuerung der Roboter erforderlich.

In diesem Kernprojekt werden Technologien der Telepräsenz und Virtual/Augmented Reality erarbeitet, die dem Bediener einen unmittelbaren, immersiven 3D-Eindruck von der Umgebung des Roboters bieten. Intuitive Steuerungsmöglichkeiten für die verschiedenen Robotersysteme sind ebenfalls von großer Bedeutung; hier wird insbesondere die haptische Rückkopplung auftretender Kräfte betrachtet, die z. B. über eine Exoskelett realisiert werden kann, aber auch die Entwicklung von Assistenzfunktionen für die teilautonome Durchführung von Dekontaminationsarbeiten ist ein wichtiger Baustein.

Kernprojekt 4: Multisensorielle Umwelterfassung für Robotersysteme bei der Dekontamination

Mit steigendem Autonomiegrad der Roboter gewinnt die Umgebungserfassung einen immer höheren Stellenwert. Die Erfassung unstrukturierter Umgebungen stellt große Herausforderungen an Sensorik und Algorithmen. Neben der geometrischen Wahrnehmung der Umgebung spielt auch die roboterbasierte Detektion von Gefahrstoffen und Strahlenmessung eine große Rolle.

In diesem Kernprojekt werden zielgerichtete Technologien für die Erfassung der Umgebung des Roboters in Dekontaminationsszenarien erarbeitet. Dies beinhaltet sowohl die Erfassung von Informationen, welche der Roboter zur Ausführung seiner Nutzfunktion benötigt, als auch die Detektion und Messung von Gefahrstoffen. Ziel ist es, neue Technologien zu entwickeln, die deutlich über den aktuellen Stand der Technik hinausgehen, um so den hohen Ansprüchen an die Präzision von Kartierung und Lokalisierung, wie sie im Dekontaminationskontext vorhanden ist, gerecht werden zu können. Die Robotersysteme sollen in die Lage versetzt werden, teilautonom eine Gefahrstoffkarte eines Gebietes bzw. eine Strahlungskarte eines Gebäudes zu erzeugen.

Kernprojekt 5: Planungsalgorithmen für Dekontaminationsaufgaben

In diesem Kernprojekt werden fortschrittliche Technologien zu Planungsaufgaben im Kontext von Dekontaminationsarbeiten entwickelt. Dies betrifft sowohl die Logistik als auch die Bewegung der Roboter in unstrukturierten Umgebungen und bei der Manipulation von Objekten.

Es wird ein 3D-Planungstool für Logistik, Simulation, Auswertung und Dokumentation der Dekontaminationsaufgabe angestrebt. Auf Grundlage des 3D-Umgebungsmodells können Ablauf- und Einsatzpläne erstellt und Transportwege optimiert werden. Außerdem werden Verfahren und Algorithmen zur Bewegungsplanung für Roboter in unstrukturierten Umgebungen erarbeitet. Dies umfasst roboterunabhängige Planungsalgorithmen zur automatisieren flächendeckenden Strahlungsmessung und Exploration sowie roboterspezifische Bahnplanungsalgorithmen unter Berücksichtigung der Fahrzeug-Kinematik für spezielle Roboter wie Baumaschinen oder Aufgaben wie das Ausbringen von Kletterrobotern. Darüber hinaus werden Methoden zur Greif- und Manipulationsplanung für Dekontaminationsaufgaben entwickelt.